AI Consensus Index

Best Remote Monitoring Systems for Seniors (2026)

envoyatHome leads the September 2026 consensus ranking for Non-Intrusive Ambient Safety Monitoring, followed by Nomo Smart Care and Alerta Home.

Seven-platform comparisonA transparent comparison of which providers receive repeated recognition across seven AI platforms.
Built for careful comparisonSee the strengths, limitations, pricing considerations, and questions worth investigating before you decide.
Best Remote Monitoring Systems for Seniors (2026) hero image
senior-technologyPublished by Aging in Place Index to support informed aging-in-place decisions.

Answer Capsule

envoyatHome leads the September 2026 consensus ranking for Non-Intrusive Ambient Safety Monitoring, followed by Nomo Smart Care and Alerta Home. The current study includes 7 valid AI-platform responses and 8 qualifying entities. Compared with August 2026, the leader changed. The current list added Alerta Home, Smart Caregiver, Routines, Zemplee Sense, IvedaCare, and SensorsCall and removed CarePredict, Aloe Care Health, and StackCare. This is an immediately preceding-month comparison. Rank movement measures changes in this collection of standardized AI-platform responses. It is not product testing, customer-review evidence, or proof that a provider's underlying quality improved or declined.

What Changed Since August 2026

This comparison uses the immediately preceding completed month.

envoyatHome remained No. 1 in September 2026. It was named by 5 platforms, compared with 2 in August 2026. Both studies used 7 valid platform responses.

The largest upward moves were envoyatHome (up 3). The largest downward moves were Nomo Smart Care (down 1).

The current qualifying set added Alerta Home, Smart Caregiver, Routines, Zemplee Sense, IvedaCare, and SensorsCall. It no longer includes CarePredict, Aloe Care Health, and StackCare from the earlier top group. Entry or exit reflects the minimum-mention rule and the current response set, not a product launch, discontinuation, or quality finding.

Current rankEntityPrevious rankRank movementCurrent mentionsPrevious mentionsMention change
1envoyatHome4Up 352+3
2Nomo Smart Care1Down 145-1
3Alerta Home—New3——
4Smart Caregiver—New3——
5Routines—New2——
6Zemplee Sense—New2——
7IvedaCare—New2——
8SensorsCall—New2——
—CarePredict2Exited—3—
—Aloe Care Health3Exited—3—
—StackCare5Exited—2—

The table is calculated directly from the two stored ranking datasets. Positive rank movement means an entity moved closer to No. 1; mention change shows the difference in the number of included platform responses naming it.

The August 2026 edition preserves the complete earlier ranking and methodology for reference.

Research Snapshot

  • Topic: Best remote monitoring systems for seniors — non-intrusive ambient safety monitoring
  • Target buyer: Long-distance caregivers seeking camera-free motion and daily routine monitoring to verify well-being
  • Geography: United States
  • Platforms included (7): openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google
  • Research date: 2026-09-27 (authoritative run date)
  • Unique entities named across platforms: 33
  • Qualifying entities: 8
  • Eligibility rule: Named by at least two platforms during ranking discovery
  • Ranking unit: Sensor suite package and software platform
  • Ranking authority: The final ranking table — platform mentions, then average listed rank, then best listed rank

Platform-reported research dates differ from the authoritative run date for some platforms (deepseek reported 2026-06-01 for envoyatHome, 2026-01-08 for Nomo Smart Care, 2026-01-15 for Alerta Home, 2026-06-11 for Smart Caregiver and Zemplee Sense, 2026-01-15 for IvedaCare, and 2026-06-11 for SensorsCall; anthropic reported 2026-01-15 for IvedaCare). These are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.

The Consensus Ranking

Questions This Section Answers

  • What are the best camera-free ambient safety monitoring systems for long-distance caregivers in 2026?
  • Which senior monitoring system was named by the most AI platforms for non-intrusive well-being verification?
  • How many platforms named envoyatHome, Nomo Smart Care, and Alerta Home for camera-free senior monitoring?

The table below is the study's authority for rank, platform mentions, platform share, average listed position, and best position. Platform mentions count only platforms that named the entity during ranking discovery; they do not represent the number of platforms that later completed a fit assessment.

RankEntityPlatform mentionsAverage listed positionBest positionBest considered for
1envoyatHome51.61Camera-free monitoring of seniors living alone or in an independent-living setting; Long-distance family caregivers needing routine-change and behavioral notifications; Seniors with cognitive decline or dementia who may not reliably wear, charge, or activate a device
2Nomo Smart Care43.251Camera-free monitoring of daily activity and routine changes; Caregivers who want app alerts, multi-person Care Circle access, and optional emergency escalation; Homes where hub, satellite, and tag placement can cover key rooms and doors
3Alerta Home32.01Camera-averse families monitoring activity between visits; Older adults who may not reliably wear or charge a wearable; Homes where bed-exit, chair-transfer, bathroom, and doorway activity are the main concerns
4Smart Caregiver32.671A senior living with an on-site or nearby caregiver who needs bed-exit, chair-exit, doorway, motion, or floor-mat alerts.; Buyers prioritizing camera-free hardware, simple installation, low upfront cost, and no recurring monitoring fee.; Single-home setups where a caregiver can hear or carry the included pager.
5Routines22.51Camera-averse seniors who will not wear a pendant or smartwatch; Caregivers wanting routine-change, prolonged-inactivity, room-activity, and caregiver-arrival alerts; Homes where Wi-Fi, electrical outlets, and an iPhone or iPad are available
6Zemplee Sense24.03Camera-averse families monitoring an older adult living alone; Caregivers who want passive monitoring rather than emergency buttons or wearable compliance; Situations where routine changes, inactivity, unusual sleep, wandering, or mobility changes are more important than continuous video
7IvedaCare24.04Caregivers monitoring an older adult who will not wear a device or accept cameras.; Homes where overnight bed presence, prolonged bed exits, oversleeping, and room activity are important.; Caregivers wanting one kit covering motion, doors or cabinets, sleep, and an SOS button.
8SensorsCall25.05Caregivers seeking camera-free, room-level activity and routine monitoring.; Homes where plug-in installation in the bedroom, bathroom, and living area is practical.; Older adults who may benefit from voice reminders or hands-free intercom communication.

Which Option Is Best for Which Version of the Buyer Need?

Questions This Section Answers

  • Which camera-free senior monitoring system should a long-distance caregiver choose if the senior refuses to wear a pendant?
  • Is envoyatHome or Alerta Home better for a home without reliable Wi-Fi?
  • Which ambient monitoring system has the lowest upfront hardware cost for a single-senior home?
Buyer needBest-ranked matchWhyRunner-up
Senior refuses cameras and wearables; caregiver lives out of stateenvoyatHomeCamera-free motion/door/cabinet sensors, no senior action required, unlimited caregiver app access, no contract [e1:anthropic:4-8][e1:anthropic:4-13][e1:anthropic:4-14]Nomo Smart Care
Lowest hardware entry price with app-based routine alertsNomo Smart Care$199.99 Essential Care Kit plus $19.99/month essential+ after trial [e2:openai:kit]Alerta Home
Home has no reliable Wi-Fi or frequent internet outagesAlerta HomeBuilt-in cellular gateway; works without Wi-Fi and during internet or power outages [e3:anthropic:8-8][e3:anthropic:8-9]IvedaCare (cellular backup unconfirmed)
Caregiver is on-site or nearby; no monthly fee acceptableSmart CaregiverOne-time hardware purchases; official instruction sheet states no monthly fees for the pager system [e4:openai:C4]SensorsCall (pricing disputed)
Bed-exit, chair-transfer, and bathroom-transition events are the priorityAlerta HomeMattress pad, chair pad, and floor mats target bed/chair exits directly [e3:anthropic:21-12]Smart Caregiver
Overnight sleep, bed presence, and contactless vitals matter mostIvedaCareSleep Sense gateway monitors overnight heart rate, respiration, bed presence, prolonged bed exits, oversleeping [e7:openai:c1]Zemplee Sense
Buyer wants a waitlist-stage, radar-only system with caregiver-arrival verificationRoutinesAnonymous radar sensors, no cameras or microphones, caregiver arrival/delay/departure alerts [e5:openai:c1]—
Buyer wants motion, door, and bed/chair occupancy in one kitZemplee SenseSense kit described as including motion, door/open-close, and bed/chair occupancy sensors [e6:openai:c1]IvedaCare
Buyer wants a discreet nightlight form factor with voice remindersSensorsCallPlug-in nightlight units; app-to-device intercom and scheduled voice reminders [e8:openai:c1]—
Watch Watch the video on YouTube on YouTube

1. envoyatHome

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is envoyatHome worth it for camera-free monitoring of a parent living alone, and what are its main drawbacks?
  • What does envoyatHome cost per month, and is there a contract or cancellation fee?
  • Does envoyatHome detect falls without a wearable, and has that been independently verified?

envoyatHome is the consensus leader for this use case: a camera-free, wearable-free passive monitoring subscription built around motion, door, and cabinet sensors connected to an internet hub, with behavioral alerts and Insight reports delivered to a caregiver app [e1:openai:envoy_home][e1:perplexity:c2]. It ranked first on grok, kimi, and openai, second on perplexity, and third on google, producing the study's highest mention count and lowest average position.

Why it ranked here. Five of seven platforms named envoyatHome during ranking discovery. Its differentiators across bundles are consistent: no cameras, microphones, listening devices, GPS, or wearables; no action required from the senior; and a stated catalog of more than 35 monitored behaviors including falls, immobility, night wandering, unexpected departures, and missed routines [e1:anthropic:4-11][e1:google:1.1.1]. The company states the system is advised by a geriatrics and palliative medicine physician [e1:official:C1].

Best suited for. Long-distance family caregivers of independent-living seniors who resist cameras or wearables, and households where routine-change detection matters more than continuous video [e1:openai:envoy_home].

Main strengths for the use case. Passive operation with zero senior compliance burden; motion, door, and cabinet sensing that supports medication-cabinet and food-access inference; unlimited family caregiver app access at no extra cost; daily and weekly Insight reports that can be shared with clinicians; and published no-contract, cancel-anytime terms [e1:anthropic:4-13][e1:anthropic:4-14][e1:anthropic:4-15].

Main limitations. No publicly disclosed independent accuracy, false-alarm, sensitivity, or latency testing; no disclosed technical description of the anomaly-detection model; monitoring stops during power or internet outages, though the system sends an outage notification and resumes automatically [e1:openai:envoy_faq]. A dedicated bed sensor is not identified — bed-related insights appear inferred from motion and contact-sensor patterns [e1:openai:envoy_faq]. The company states envoyatHome is not a medical device and does not diagnose conditions [e1:anthropic:2-6]. Privacy and cybersecurity claims are primarily company statements rather than independently verified evidence.

Pricing or cost summary. $99 per month plus a one-time $399 equipment fee for the standard 8-sensor package and one internet hub; taxes and shipping excluded; no contract and no cancellation fees or penalties [e1:official:C1][e1:perplexity:c1]. Perplexity also found a shop page showing a 12-month subscription at $950.40 and a 6-month option at $534.60, plus individual motion and garage-door sensors listed at $49 each, with the relationship between those offers and the standard monthly plan not fully clear [e1:perplexity:c5][e1:perplexity:c6]. A military/first-responder discount is stated [e1:official:C1].

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings ranged from strong (anthropic, google, grok) to good (openai, perplexity) to uncertain (deepseek, kimi). Deepseek flagged that the $99/month figure appeared in ranking-stage normalization but was not confirmed against the official site during its check, and that one or more fetched domains were not corroborated by brand-name or site-identity metadata [e1:deepseek:envoy-home]. Kimi could not verify pricing, sensor specifications, AI capabilities, or privacy policy details from accessible sources and noted the price point would be among the highest in the category if accurate [e1:kimi:envoyatHome_unclear_1]. Anthropic and openai both noted that pet-household handling and multi-occupant constraints are acknowledged in the FAQ but not answered in available materials [e1:anthropic:39-1].

For the complete fit review, see envoyatHome.

What Changed Since August 2026

envoyatHome moved up from No. 4 to No. 1, and platform mentions increased from 2 to 5. The September 2026 article presents envoyatHome as the consensus leader for camera-free monitoring, where the August 2026 write-up called it a good-to-strong fit with thinner evidence. The current article newly reports $99 per month for the subscription and no longer repeats the earlier additional-motion-sensor figure of $29–$29.99. Limitations are now framed more specifically: no disclosed independent accuracy or latency testing, no technical description of the anomaly-detection model, and a dedicated bed sensor still not identified, with bed insights inferred from motion and contact-sensor patterns. Pricing terms described — the one-time equipment fee, no contract, and no cancellation fees — remain consistent with the earlier write-up. Differences between the two editions reflect what each article reports; they do not by themselves prove that the product, service, or price changed.

2. Nomo Smart Care

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is Nomo Smart Care or envoyatHome better for a caregiver who wants a lower hardware cost and optional emergency escalation?
  • What is the exact Nomo Smart Care kit price and monthly subscription, and why do public sources disagree?
  • Does Nomo Smart Care detect falls without a wearable, and what are the limitations?

Nomo Smart Care ranked second overall, named by four platforms (anthropic, google, grok, openai) with a best position of 1 on google. It is the strongest alternative for buyers who want a lower hardware entry price, a multi-caregiver Care Circle, and optional emergency escalation rather than a pure notification model.

Why it ranked here. Four platforms named it, and its average listed position of 3.25 reflects one low placement (anthropic ranked it 8) against three strong ones (google 1, grok 2, openai 2). The Essential Care Kit combines a hub, two plug-in satellite motion sensors, and four tags that can monitor doors, drawers, refrigerators, ovens, or medication cabinets and double as panic buttons [e2:openai:kit].

Best suited for. Privacy-conscious long-distance caregivers who want camera-free monitoring of movement and daily routines, shared caregiver access, and an optional escalation path [e2:openai:kit].

Main strengths for the use case. Camera-free design; AI-based routine learning with alerts when patterns shift; Care Circle access for multiple caregivers; two-way voice through the hub; a stated 15-minute plug-and-play setup; and U.S.-only availability matching the target geography [e2:anthropic:src10][e2:openai:kit].

Main limitations. A dedicated bed sensor is not clearly documented — bedroom insights appear to rely on movement sensing [e2:openai:kit]. Automatic fall detection is only functional if the senior actively wears a tag as a pendant; passive room sensors do not automatically detect falls [e2:google:nomo_product_page]. Passive motion sensors struggle to distinguish individuals in multi-person or active-pet households [e2:google:nomo_product_page]. The system requires home Wi-Fi with no documented cellular backup [e2:anthropic:src15]. The company states alignment with SOC 2 and HIPAA guidelines but is not independently certified as a HIPAA-covered entity [e2:anthropic:src14].

Pricing or cost summary. $199.99 one-time for the Essential Care Kit, plus essential+ at $19.99/month or $199.99/year (stated as saving 15%), with a free trial whose length is inconsistent across public pages [e2:openai:kit][e2:official:C1]. Accessory packs are listed at $24.99 for tags and $39.99 for satellites; a blood-pressure monitor is listed at $54.98 and a non-contact thermometer at $34.98 [e2:openai:kit]. Grok reported a support article listing the kit at $249.99, and perplexity found sources citing $199.99, $249.99, or $254.97 for the kit and $9.99 or $19.99 per month for the subscription [e2:grok:web1][e2:perplexity:c14].

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings ranged from strong (anthropic, google, grok) to good (openai, deepseek, perplexity) to uncertain (kimi). The trial length is the clearest documented conflict: the homepage displays a 30-day free trial while the Essential Care Kit and subscription sections state 60 days [e2:official:C1][e2:openai:kit]. Kimi could not verify sensor specifications, AI routine detection, subscription pricing, or privacy architecture from public sources and rated the fit uncertain [e2:kimi:nomo-unverified]. Perplexity noted that Nomo's privacy policy references recognized acoustic signatures and location tracking information, and that the app may collect location data even when closed or not in use [e2:perplexity:c5].

For the complete fit review, see Nomo Smart Care.

What Changed Since August 2026

Nomo Smart Care moved down from No. 1 to No. 2, and platform mentions decreased from 5 to 4. The September 2026 article reframes Nomo Smart Care around cost of entry, real-time caregiver sharing, and optional emergency escalation, whereas the earlier write-up led with the August 2026 "good-to-strong" verdict and its camera-free design. The earlier article's recommended-fit language is gone, replaced by a narrower pitch to privacy-conscious long-distance caregivers. The current article newly reports a $54.98 blood-pressure monitor and a $34.98 non-contact thermometer, while the $9.99/month subscription figure is no longer repeated. It also reports a 60-day free trial, and flags the homepage's 30-day trial as a conflict. Fall detection still requires an actively worn tag, so passive room sensors cannot detect falls automatically. Differences between the two editions reflect what each article reports; they do not by themselves prove that the product, service, or price changed.

3. Alerta Home

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is Alerta Home better than envoyatHome for a senior whose home has no reliable Wi-Fi?
  • What does Alerta Home cost, and why do the Full Coverage Kit prices differ between pages?
  • Does Alerta Home call 911 or dispatch emergency services when an alert fires?

Alerta Home ranked third with three platform mentions and the second-best average listed position in the study (2.0), including a first-place ranking from anthropic. It is the strongest option for homes without dependable Wi-Fi because its gateway uses built-in cellular connectivity [e3:anthropic:8-8][e3:anthropic:8-9].

Why it ranked here. Three platforms named it, and its average position of 2.0 is better than Nomo Smart Care's 3.25 — the ranking table places it third because platform mentions take precedence. Its sensor approach is distinctive: mattress pads, chair pads, and floor mats rather than wall-mounted motion sensors [e3:anthropic:21-12].

Best suited for. Camera-averse families monitoring bed-exit, chair-transfer, bathroom, and doorway activity, and caregivers who can respond to app notifications themselves [e3:openai:c3].

Main strengths for the use case. Camera-free, microphone-free, wearable-free design; targeted bed and chair exit detection where falls are most likely; cellular gateway that works during internet or power outages; 10-to-20-minute self-installation; multi-caregiver app access with Apple Watch and Android smartwatch notifications; and publicly stated no-contract, cancel-anytime terms [e3:anthropic:21-3][e3:anthropic:44-15][e3:openai:c3].

Main limitations. The company explicitly states the system is not emergency response, does not call 911, is not a medical or diagnostic device, and cannot detect every event [e3:anthropic:21-24][e3:anthropic:21-29][e3:anthropic:21-32]. Coverage depends on pad and mat placement, and incorrect setup can cause false or missed notifications [e3:openai:c7]. No independent false-positive, false-negative, or latency rates were published. An active subscription is required for continued monitoring, notifications, and data services [e3:official:C2].

Pricing or cost summary. The standard single kit is advertised at $189 hardware-only with the first month of monitoring included, followed by $69/month [e3:official:C1]. The Full Coverage Kit is shown at $345 on its product page and $229 on the homepage — a discrepancy that must be resolved before purchase [e3:openai:c2][e3:google:2.2.1]. Perplexity found a Starter Kit at $269, a Full Coverage Kit at $345, and one bundle at $259 hardware plus $89/month monitoring after a free first month, and could not verify the $69/month figure in the sources it checked [e3:perplexity:C1]. Kimi found a Full Coverage Kit listed at $125.00 alongside the $189 kit, with the relationship between the two unclear [e3:kimi:alertahome-1].

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings ranged from strong (grok) to good (anthropic, google, openai, perplexity) to mixed (kimi) to uncertain (deepseek). Deepseek could not confirm the $69/month figure, whether bed sensors are included in named kits, or whether anomaly detection uses machine learning versus rule-based thresholds [e3:deepseek:c1]. Kimi noted that the pads appear pressure- or contact-based rather than true motion detection despite "movement" marketing language, and that the monitoring service scope — automated alerting versus human-staffed response — is undefined [e3:kimi:alertahome-1]. Perplexity found explicit AI anomaly detection claims not clearly supported by the public pages it checked [e3:perplexity:C1].

For the complete fit review, see Alerta Home.

4. Smart Caregiver

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is Smart Caregiver worth it for a long-distance caregiver, or is it only useful when someone is physically nearby?
  • Which Smart Caregiver bed alarm or motion sensor kit has the lowest published price with no monthly fee?
  • Does Smart Caregiver offer a caregiver app or AI routine anomaly detection?

Smart Caregiver ranked fourth with three platform mentions and a best position of 1 from deepseek, but it is the study's clearest case of a product that fits a different buyer than the one this index targets. It is a pager- and monitor-based local alert manufacturer, not an app-based ambient monitoring platform.

Why it ranked here. Three platforms named it, and its average listed position of 2.67 is strong. The verified product line supports up to six wireless components including motion, door/window, bed-exit, chair-exit, floor-mat, and call-button sensors, with official prices from $24.95 to $169.95 and a build-your-own system starting at $46.90 [e4:openai:C1][e4:openai:C2][e4:openai:C5].

Best suited for. A senior living with an on-site or nearby caregiver who needs bed-exit, chair-exit, doorway, motion, or floor-mat alerts, and buyers prioritizing camera-free hardware, simple installation, low upfront cost, and no recurring monitoring fee [e4:openai:C4].

Main strengths for the use case. Camera-free sensing across multiple event types; low upfront hardware prices; official materials stating no monthly fees for the pager-based wireless system; up to six wireless components paired to one monitoring device; and a stated 300-foot range on the standalone motion detector [e4:openai:C1][e4:openai:C4].

Main limitations. No verified long-distance caregiver app, cloud portal, cellular backup, or remote push-notification capability for the reviewed products [e4:openai:C1]. No verified AI routine-learning or anomaly-detection capability. Pager and monitor systems may fail to provide useful notification when the caregiver is outside local radio range. Bed pads, chair pads, floor mats, and batteries require placement, maintenance, and replacement. The official motion-detector page said it would be unavailable until mid-August 2026, and current stock should be verified [e4:openai:C1].

Pricing or cost summary. Verified one-time prices include $24.95 for a motion detector with standalone pager, $59.95 for a motion sensor with caregiver pager, $94.95 for a basic bed alarm kit with on/off monitor, $169.95 for a wireless chair-and-bed system, and a $46.90 starting price for the build-your-own wireless system [e4:openai:C1][e4:openai:C2][e4:openai:C3]. No monthly fees are stated for the reviewed wireless paging system [e4:openai:C4]. Perplexity separately found a Core Kit listed at $899 with a $59 monthly subscription and an additional $9.99 monthly fee for third-party monitoring, plus an optional $199 installation fee [e4:perplexity:c1][e4:perplexity:c2][e4:perplexity:c3].

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings ranged from mixed (anthropic, deepseek, openai, perplexity) to weak (grok, kimi, google). The central disagreement is product identity: the evaluation brief referenced a "Caregiver Smart Solutions Core Kit" and "CarePods Ambient Sensors," which anthropic, deepseek, grok, and kimi all identified as products of Caregiver Smart Solutions, a separate company, rather than Smart Caregiver's own line [e4:anthropic:37-1][e4:deepseek:C2][e4:grok:web:1][e4:kimi:SCG-1]. Google concluded the company "completely lacks AI daily routine tracking" and is "completely useless for long-distance caregivers looking to verify well-being from afar" [e4:google:guardian-review]. Official-site retrieval failed for one or more mentions and that one or more fetched domains were not corroborated by brand-name or site-identity metadata.

For the complete fit review, see Smart Caregiver.

5. Routines

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is Routines available to buy in the United States in 2026, or is it still waitlist-only?
  • What does Routines cost, and why do public sources show different prices?
  • Does Routines detect falls or dispatch emergency services?

Routines ranked fifth with two platform mentions (grok and perplexity) and a best position of 1 from perplexity. It is a radar-based, camera-free monitoring service made by Density, and it is the only qualifying entity whose commercial availability is explicitly in question.

Why it ranked here. Two platforms named it, and its average listed position of 2.5 is the third-best in the study. Its radar sensors detect presence, movement, inactivity, and room transitions without cameras or microphones, and the service includes caregiver arrival, delay, and departure alerts plus daily and weekly activity summaries [e5:openai:c1].

Best suited for. Camera-averse seniors who will not wear a pendant or smartwatch, and caregivers who want routine-change, prolonged-inactivity, room-activity, and caregiver-arrival alerts in homes with Wi-Fi, electrical outlets, and an iPhone or iPad [e5:openai:c1].

Main strengths for the use case. Anonymous radar sensing with no cameras or microphones; AI routine learning with alerts on major deviations; caregiver-visit verification; plug-and-play self-installation described as under ten minutes; and a stated recommendation of three sensors minimum for best coverage [e5:openai:c1][e5:official:C1].

Main limitations. Routines explicitly states it does not directly detect falls or diagnose health issues [e5:openai:c1]. Android support is not identified on the reviewed official page. The system requires Wi-Fi, electrical outlets, and an iPhone or iPad. Routine anomaly alerts may be less reliable for residents with irregular schedules [e5:openai:c2]. The official site says families should join a waitlist for early access in Spring 2026, while a separate company resource said availability would begin across the United States in Fall 2025 [e5:openai:c3].

Pricing or cost summary. The official product page lists $299 for three sensors plus $49 per month, which is $887 for the first year before taxes or other charges [e5:official:C1][e5:openai:c1]. Perplexity found a 2025 partner article citing $99 per sensor and $10 per month at launch, a discrepancy that remains unresolved [e5:perplexity:c2]. Google reported a July 2025 Density announcement with the same $99-per-sensor and $10/month figures conflicting with the $299/$49 listing [e5:google:1.1.1]. Contract length, cancellation, refund, and data-retention terms were not stated on the reviewed official page.

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings ranged from strong (grok) to good (openai, perplexity, google) to uncertain (anthropic, kimi) to weak (deepseek). Deepseek reported that the official website did not load or provide accessible product information and rated the fit weak [e5:deepseek:C1]. Kimi likewise could not verify the company or product through accessible sources [e5:kimi:search-failure-1]. Anthropic rated the fit uncertain because the product specified in the evaluation "does not yet exist commercially" and the $299/$49 pricing could not be verified from any public source [e5:anthropic:C1]. Google and grok both rated it strong on concept while noting the waitlist and lack of fall detection.

For the complete fit review, see Routines.

6. Zemplee Sense

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is Zemplee Sense worth it for camera-free monitoring if the buyer needs published monthly pricing before purchase?
  • Which sensors are included in the Zemplee Sense kit, and does it cover bed and door events?
  • Can a family buy Zemplee Sense directly, or only through a home care agency or provider?

Zemplee Sense ranked sixth with two platform mentions (anthropic and kimi) and a best position of 3. It matches the sensor-variety criterion more completely than most competitors on paper — motion, door/open-close, and bed or chair occupancy in one kit — but its purchasing path and pricing are the least transparent in the qualifying set.

Why it ranked here. Two platforms named it, and its average listed position of 4.0 reflects mid-pack placement. The Sense kit is described as including ambient motion sensors, door or open-close sensors, and bed or chair occupancy sensors, with Attentive AI analyzing movement, sleep, room presence, mobility, bathroom usage, hydration-related activity, missed routines, and unusual patterns [e6:openai:c1][e6:anthropic:cit-1][e6:anthropic:cit-2].

Best suited for. Camera-averse families monitoring an older adult living alone, and situations where routine changes, inactivity, unusual sleep, wandering, or mobility changes matter more than continuous video [e6:openai:c1].

Main strengths for the use case. Broad sensor coverage including bed and chair occupancy; no camera, microphone, or wearable requirement; passive operation with zero setup effort from the senior; real-time notifications to caregivers, families, and providers; and a stated behavioral baseline established in the first month [e6:anthropic:cit-3][e6:anthropic:cit-9].

Main limitations. No public price list, making comparison with consumer competitors difficult [e6:openai:c5]. Public materials do not establish alert sensitivity, false-positive rates, detection latency, uptime, or performance across different home layouts. The company describes the product as suitable for homes, senior-living communities, agencies, and provider workflows, while another company page says it is offered through home-care agency partners — direct-to-consumer availability is therefore unclear [e6:openai:c5]. CareSuite bundles Sense with Pulse, a separate remote-vitals product, which may add unnecessary complexity or cost for ambient monitoring only [e6:openai:c2].

Pricing or cost summary. Public pricing for the Sense kit, CareSuite software, installation, and recurring monitoring was not disclosed on the reviewed pages; the company states pricing is based on care needs and offered through home-care agency partners or a consultation [e6:openai:c5]. Anthropic found that Medicare patients with one chronic condition may qualify for zero cost via billing, while non-Medicare seniors can purchase directly at a "small monthly payment" amount not specified [e6:anthropic:cit-7]. Google reported consumer options starting at approximately $80 to $100 per month for non-clinical settings, citing a 2022 Business Insider article, and noted upfront hardware fees are not publicly disclosed [e6:google:source_business_insider]. Grok cited the same $80–$100 range as 2022 data [e6:grok:14].

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings ranged from strong (google, grok) to good (anthropic, kimi, openai, perplexity) to uncertain (deepseek). Deepseek could not verify exact sensor composition, AI anomaly-detection accuracy, subscription pricing, or contract terms and rated the fit uncertain [e6:deepseek:c1]. Perplexity found no clearly verified public monthly price or contract terms and noted that one source indicates Zemplee is not a hardware manufacturer and uses OEM sensors [e6:perplexity:c14]. Kimi noted the absence of stated latency guarantees and unclear fall-detection mechanisms [e6:kimi:zemplee-sense-1]. Anthropic cited a company-referenced Gravity Healthcare Consulting study reporting care coordinators found Zemplee helpful and a fall study noting 8× fewer unwitnessed falls in a Zemplee cohort, but stated causality and sample specifics were not independently confirmed [e6:anthropic:cit-10].

For the complete fit review, see Zemplee Sense.

7. IvedaCare

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is IvedaCare worth it for overnight monitoring if the caregiver needs bed presence and sleep data without a wearable?
  • Is the IvedaCare subscription $50 per month or $600 per year, and is monthly billing available?
  • Does IvedaCare detect falls directly, or only infer them from motion patterns?

IvedaCare ranked seventh with two platform mentions (anthropic and kimi) and a best position of 4. It is the only qualifying entity whose kit includes a dedicated overnight sensing gateway, and it is the strongest match for buyers whose primary concern is nighttime bed presence and sleep patterns.

Why it ranked here. Two platforms named it, and its average listed position of 4.0 reflects consistent mid-pack placement. The kit is described as including one Sleep Sense device or gateway, four motion sensors, two door or cabinet sensors, and one SOS button, with Sleep Sense monitoring overnight heart rate, respiration, sleep patterns, bed presence, prolonged bed exits, oversleeping, and frequent nighttime movement without cameras or wearables [e7:openai:c1][e7:anthropic:C1].

Best suited for. Caregivers monitoring an older adult who will not wear a device or accept cameras, and homes where overnight bed presence, prolonged bed exits, oversleeping, and room activity are important [e7:openai:c1].

Main strengths for the use case. Camera-free and wearable-free design; broad initial sensor package covering motion, doors or cabinets, sleep, bed-related events, and SOS; routine-change and inactivity alerts; multiple notification channels including app, SMS, and call; customizable Family Circle; and a stated one-year standard hardware and software warranty [e7:openai:c4][e7:openai:c1].

Main limitations. The system should not be treated as a guaranteed fall detector, medical monitor, or emergency-response service; IvedaCare uses ambient motion sensors to detect falls indirectly through abnormal motion patterns rather than direct fall detection [e7:anthropic:C1]. Independent validation of anomaly detection, sleep measurements, bed-exit detection, and false-alert performance was not established. Public materials do not clearly explain alert prioritization, escalation timing, caregiver acknowledgment workflows, or behavior during internet or power loss. Replacement and expansion hardware availability may be inconsistent — the current kit is presented as available while at least one individual motion sensor is marked out of stock [e7:openai:c6].

Pricing or cost summary. The current product page lists the IvedaCare Kit at $500 MSRP one-time and the care subscription at $50 per month, marked as paid annually [e7:official:C1]. Another IvedaCare page lists a $500 starter kit and a $600 annual subscription, which is mathematically equivalent to $50 per month but does not clarify whether monthly payment is available [e7:openai:c2]. Anthropic found a third figure — $35 per month on ivedacare.com — creating pricing ambiguity [e7:anthropic:C7]. Additional environmental sensors are listed at $39.99, and individual replacement sensors appear at approximately $40 for motion and $35 for entry [e7:openai:c6].

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings ranged from strong (google, grok) to good (anthropic, openai, perplexity) to uncertain (deepseek, kimi). Deepseek could not confirm published U.S. consumer pricing, sensor roster, app functionality, or AI anomaly-detection details and rated the fit uncertain [e7:deepseek:c1]. Kimi flagged that Iveda's broader business includes AI video surveillance and smart city cameras, creating ambiguity about whether cameraless monitoring is a sideline or strategic focus, and noted the company's SEC filings describe core business as AI video surveillance [e7:kimi:iveda-sec]. Anthropic noted the Sleep Sense contactless vital monitoring is not validated for clinical accuracy and is intended for routine monitoring, not medical diagnostics [e7:anthropic:C1]. Perplexity found the subscription billed either monthly or annually depending on the page and could not resolve the effective recurring price [e7:perplexity:c1][e7:perplexity:c3].

For the complete fit review, see IvedaCare.

8. SensorsCall

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is SensorsCall worth it for camera-free routine monitoring, and what are its main drawbacks?
  • Does SensorsCall charge $19 per month, or is monitoring free for life, and which price applies?
  • Does SensorsCall include door or bed sensors, or only plug-in nightlight units?

SensorsCall ranked eighth with two platform mentions (grok and perplexity) and a best position of 5. Its CareAlert plug-in nightlight form factor is the most discreet in the qualifying set, but it carries the study's most internally inconsistent pricing and the least documented sensor lineup.

Why it ranked here. Two platforms named it, and its average listed position of 5.0 is the lowest in the study. The company markets Carealert as a wellness monitor without cameras, describing the device as a nightlight that learns daily patterns and provides notifications for deviations, abnormality detection, no-activity warnings, no-wake or wake-up detection, unusual shower-time detection, trends, and daily reports [e8:openai:c1].

Best suited for. Caregivers seeking camera-free, room-level activity and routine monitoring in homes where plug-in installation in the bedroom, bathroom, and living area is practical, and older adults who may benefit from voice reminders or hands-free intercom communication [e8:openai:c1].

Main strengths for the use case. Camera-free nightlight form factor; routine learning and deviation notifications; reported support for no-activity, wake-up, shower-time, bathroom, sleep, kitchen, environmental, trend, and daily-report monitoring; multi-room deployment via plug-in units; and voice reminders plus intercom that may help caregivers check in without requiring the senior to carry a device [e8:openai:c1][e8:anthropic:src_14].

Main limitations. Dedicated motion, door, and bed sensors are not clearly documented; the public pages use broad terms such as "advanced sensors" without specifying sensor hardware [e8:openai:c1]. Detection logic, baseline-learning period, false-alert rate, missed-event rate, and alert latency are not disclosed. Coverage appears centered on installed units and may not identify activity throughout an entire home. The company expressly states Carealert is not a replacement for assisted living and may not be suitable when a loved one needs nursing-home medical attention [e8:openai:c1]. The official privacy policy was last updated January 1, 2020, so its applicability to the current product and data architecture is uncertain [e8:openai:c3]. Anthropic noted the company is seed-stage, founded in 2016, with its last funding round in February 2019 and six employees as of June 2026 [e8:anthropic:src_30].

Pricing or cost summary. The current product page lists Carealert at $149 for one unit, $280 for two units, and $415 for three units, and states that lifetime monitoring service is included [e8:openai:c2]. The main site separately displays a $19-per-month figure and an estimated approximately $500 first-year cost [e8:official:C1]. Grok reported the same conflict — product pages claiming free lifetime monitoring while the homepage shows $19/month [e8:grok:web:2][e8:grok:web:3]. Perplexity found roughly $416 upfront plus $19/month in one snippet and free lifetime monitoring in another, and noted an older independent report citing $150 per device plus $250/year [e8:perplexity:c5][e8:perplexity:c15]. Google reported historically cited subscription costs of $250/year after the first year alongside conflicting recent claims [e8:google:1.2.2].

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings ranged from good (anthropic) to mixed (google, grok, openai, perplexity) to uncertain (deepseek, kimi). Kimi could not access the company's website during research and could not verify product existence, specifications, pricing, or operational status [e8:kimi:search_attempt_1]. Deepseek noted the source evaluation flagged that one or more fetched domains were not corroborated by brand/site identity metadata [e8:deepseek:c1]. Anthropic cited a company-adjacent case study claiming 2% false positives with AI-powered anomaly detection, but noted no independent validation or third-party testing data is publicly available [e8:anthropic:src_36]. Google found no reviews on G2, Trustpilot, or Reddit and flagged the lack of independent third-party validation [e8:google:1.3.3][e8:google:1.3.4].

For the complete fit review, see SensorsCall.

What the Cross-Platform Study Reveals About This Market

Questions This Section Answers

  • What do AI platforms consistently recommend when a caregiver asks for camera-free senior monitoring?
  • Which features separate the top-ranked ambient monitoring systems from the rest of the category?

Three patterns hold across the qualifying set. First, camera-free operation is table stakes: every qualifying entity markets the absence of cameras, and most also market the absence of microphones and wearables. Second, the sensor architecture splits the market into two camps — general-purpose motion and contact sensing (envoyatHome, Nomo Smart Care, Zemplee Sense, IvedaCare, SensorsCall) versus targeted pressure and presence sensing (Alerta Home's pads and mats, Smart Caregiver's bed and chair pads, Routines' radar). Third, recurring subscription economics vary by more than an order of magnitude: Smart Caregiver states no monthly fees for its pager systems, Nomo Smart Care lists $19.99/month, Routines lists $49/month, IvedaCare lists $50/month, Alerta Home lists $69/month, and envoyatHome lists $99/month.

A fourth pattern is evidentiary rather than architectural. Across all eight entities, company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations, and no platform located independent accuracy testing, false-alarm measurement, or clinical validation for any qualifying system. The most frequently repeated buyer-facing claims — 35 tracked behaviors, 98% accuracy figures cited for non-qualifying competitors, 2% false positives — are company statements, not verified results.

For broader context on how these systems fit into the wider senior technology landscape, the category directory covers adjacent product classes.

Where the AI Platforms Agreed

Questions This Section Answers

  • Which senior monitoring systems did most AI platforms agree belong at the top of the category?
  • What limitations did AI platforms consistently flag across camera-free monitoring systems?

Platforms converged on several points. envoyatHome was named by five of seven platforms and placed first or second by four of them, making it the only entity with both broad and high placement. Camera-free design was treated as a genuine advantage by every platform that assessed it, and no platform disputed that passive sensing reduces senior resistance relative to cameras or wearables.

Platforms also agreed on the category's shared limitations. Multiple platforms independently noted that none of these systems provides guaranteed emergency dispatch, that all depend on home connectivity or cellular coverage, and that routine-anomaly alerts require human follow-up rather than automated response. Anthropic, openai, perplexity, and google each stated that the reviewed evidence for their assigned entities was primarily company-owned. Platforms also agreed that bed sensing is the weakest-documented capability across the set: envoyatHome, Nomo Smart Care, and SensorsCall all lack clearly documented dedicated bed sensors, while Alerta Home and IvedaCare document bed-related sensing more explicitly.

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed

Questions This Section Answers

  • Why did AI platforms rate the same senior monitoring system as both strong and uncertain?
  • Which senior monitoring systems had the widest disagreement between AI platforms on fit?

Fit ratings diverged sharply for several entities. envoyatHome received strong ratings from anthropic, google, and grok, good ratings from openai and perplexity, and uncertain ratings from deepseek and kimi — the widest spread in the study. The disagreement tracks verification rather than capability: platforms with search access that retrieved the official pricing page confirmed $99/month and $399 equipment, while platforms that could not retrieve it treated the pricing as unverified.

Smart Caregiver produced the study's most consequential disagreement. Anthropic, deepseek, grok, and kimi all identified the "Caregiver Smart Solutions Core Kit" and "CarePods Ambient Sensors" referenced in the evaluation brief as products of a separate company, not Smart Caregiver's own line. Google concluded the company lacks cloud connectivity and AI routine tracking entirely, while deepseek ranked it first among the platforms that named it. This is a product-identity conflict, not a performance dispute, and buyers should resolve it before treating any Smart Caregiver listing as an ambient monitoring platform.

Routines produced a second identity-level disagreement. Grok, perplexity, google, and openai described a functioning radar monitoring service with published pricing, while deepseek and kimi reported that the official website was inaccessible and could not verify the company or product at all. Anthropic rated the fit uncertain because the product does not yet exist commercially. SensorsCall produced a third: anthropic rated it good, four platforms rated it mixed, and two could not verify it.

How Buyers Should Choose

Questions This Section Answers

  • What should a buyer check before choosing a camera-free senior monitoring system for a parent living alone?
  • Which senior monitoring system should a caregiver choose if the senior has dementia and refuses wearables?

Start with the senior's acceptance constraints, because they eliminate options faster than any feature comparison. If the senior refuses cameras and wearables, envoyatHome, Nomo Smart Care, Alerta Home, Zemplee Sense, and Routines all qualify on design; Smart Caregiver qualifies on camera-free hardware but not on remote app access. If the senior refuses visible floor mats or under-sheet pads, Alerta Home and Smart Caregiver drop out.

Next, resolve connectivity. If the home lacks reliable Wi-Fi, Alerta Home is the only qualifying entity with a documented built-in cellular gateway that works during internet or power outages. Every other qualifying system depends on home Wi-Fi, and only IvedaCare's gateway is described as supporting Ethernet or cellular dual-SIM in some platform-reported material — a claim that should be verified directly.

Then match the sensing modality to the risk. For bed-exit and chair-transfer risk, Alerta Home and Smart Caregiver target those events directly. For overnight sleep and bed presence, IvedaCare's Sleep Sense is the only dedicated gateway in the set. For broad room-level routine awareness, envoyatHome, Nomo Smart Care, Zemplee Sense, and Routines all qualify.

Finally, verify the commercial terms in writing. Pricing conflicts affect envoyatHome (6-month and 12-month offers), Nomo Smart Care (kit price and trial length), Alerta Home (Full Coverage Kit price and monthly fee), Routines (launch pricing versus current pricing), IvedaCare ($35 versus $50 per month), and SensorsCall ($19/month versus free lifetime monitoring). None of these conflicts should be resolved by assumption.

Methodology

This index was produced from a single standardized prompt sent once to each of seven AI platforms: openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, and google. The authoritative research date is 2026-09-27. Each platform was asked to identify and rank sensor suite packages and software platforms for non-intrusive ambient safety monitoring for long-distance caregivers in the United States.

Entities qualified for the final ranking if they were named by at least two platforms during ranking discovery. Thirty-three unique entities were named; eight qualified. The final ranking order is determined by platform mentions first, then average listed position, then best listed position. The ranking table is the sole authority for rank, mentions, share, average position, and best position.

Platform mentions count only ranking-discovery mentions. All seven platforms evaluated fit for the entities they were assigned, but mention counts do not reflect the number of platforms that completed a fit assessment. Fit assessments, feature findings, pricing, limitations, and disagreements were drawn from the entity evidence bundles, which are themselves platform-reported evidence.

Citations are platform-reported evidence, not independently verified facts. Company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations across every entity in this study. Where a platform reported a claim without retrieved evidence, it is labeled as platform-reported. The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated by the writer stage.

Methodology Limitations

Several limitations constrain how this index should be used. First, the study used one standardized prompt sent once to each platform. AI answers can vary by date, wording, location, account state, model, interface, browsing configuration, and the sources retrieved, so a repeat run would not necessarily produce identical results.

Second, platform-reported research dates differ from the authoritative run date. Deepseek reported 2026-06-01 for envoyatHome, 2026-01-08 for Nomo Smart Care, 2026-01-15 for Alerta Home, 2026-06-11 for Smart Caregiver and Zemplee Sense, 2026-01-15 for IvedaCare, and 2026-06-11 for SensorsCall. Anthropic reported 2026-01-15 for IvedaCare. These are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness.

Third, platform recommendations are market intelligence, not independent customer reviews or proof of quality. No platform independently tested detection accuracy, false-alarm rates, latency, or clinical outcomes for any qualifying entity.

Fourth, the available source evidence flagged normalization issues. For envoyatHome, one or more fetched domains were not corroborated by brand-name or site-identity metadata, and company-name variants were collapsed onto one canonical brand. For Smart Caregiver, official-site retrieval failed for one or more mentions, and one or more fetched domains were not corroborated by brand-name or site-identity metadata. For SensorsCall, one or more fetched domains were not corroborated by brand-name or site-identity metadata.

Fifth, several entities have unresolved product-identity questions. The relationship between Smart Caregiver and Caregiver Smart Solutions is unclear. Whether Routines is commercially available is unclear. Whether Zemplee Sense is sold directly to families or only through agency partners is unclear.

Sixth, pricing conflicts are documented rather than resolved throughout this report. Buyers should confirm current pricing, contract terms, cancellation policies, and data-handling practices directly with each vendor before purchase.

Final Verdict

envoyatHome is the consensus leader for non-intrusive ambient safety monitoring by long-distance caregivers, with the broadest platform support and the best average placement in the study. Nomo Smart Care is the strongest alternative for buyers who want a lower hardware entry price and optional emergency escalation. Alerta Home is the clear choice when the home lacks reliable Wi-Fi or when bed-exit and chair-transfer events are the primary concern. Smart Caregiver serves a different buyer — one with an on-site caregiver and no appetite for a subscription — and should not be treated as a long-distance monitoring platform. Routines, Zemplee Sense, IvedaCare, and SensorsCall each match a specific version of the need, but each carries unresolved questions about availability, pricing, or verification that buyers should settle before committing.

No qualifying system in this study has independently validated detection accuracy, and none provides guaranteed emergency dispatch. Buyers should treat every alerting system here as a caregiver-awareness tool that requires human follow-up, not as a substitute for emergency response or in-person care.

Frequently Asked Questions

Which system ranked first for camera-free senior monitoring?

envoyatHome ranked first, named by 5 of 7 platforms (71.4%) with an average listed position of 1.6 and a best position of 1.

How many platforms were studied?

Seven: openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, and google. One standardized prompt was sent once to each.

How many entities qualified for the ranking?

Eight of 33 unique entities named, using the rule that an entity must be named by at least two platforms during ranking discovery.

Does any system in this index provide emergency dispatch?

No. Alerta Home explicitly states it is not emergency response and does not call 911. envoyatHome states it is not a medical device. Nomo Smart Care describes optional 24/7 emergency services through RapidSOS in some listings, but this is not consistently confirmed across sources and should be verified.

Which system works without home Wi-Fi?

Alerta Home is the only qualifying entity with a documented built-in cellular gateway that works without Wi-Fi and during internet or power outages.

Which system has the lowest published recurring cost?

Smart Caregiver states no monthly fees for its pager-based wireless system. Among subscription systems, Nomo Smart Care lists $19.99/month, Routines lists $49/month, IvedaCare lists $50/month, Alerta Home lists $69/month, and envoyatHome lists $99/month.

Why do some entities have conflicting prices in this report?

Because the platforms retrieved different pages at different times. Nomo Smart Care, Alerta Home, Routines, IvedaCare, and SensorsCall all show pricing conflicts across public sources. This report documents the conflicts rather than resolving them.

Is Smart Caregiver the same company as Caregiver Smart Solutions?

Four platforms identified them as separate companies. The relationship between the two is unclear and should be verified before purchase.

Can Routines be purchased today?

Unclear. The official site requests a waitlist signup for early access in Spring 2026, while a separate company resource said U.S. availability would begin in Fall 2025.

Does any system detect falls directly?

No qualifying system documents independently validated direct fall detection. envoyatHome describes detecting immobility after hard or soft falls using multiple sensor-data layers. Nomo Smart Care's automatic fall detection requires the senior to wear a tag as a pendant. IvedaCare detects falls indirectly through abnormal motion patterns.

Consolidated Sources

Company-Owned Sources

Independent Sources

Other Sources

Verify This Research

Review the study details behind this page or download the public machine-readable verification record.

Study date
September 27, 2026
Platforms analyzed
7
Source records
178
Candidates reviewed
33
Qualified finalists
8

Research trail and source mix

Configured platforms

openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google

Source mix

60 independent · 108 company-owned · 10 unclear

Evidence support

119 direct · 28 partial

Important limitation

Exactly 7 platforms were included in this run: openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google. The configured source value 7 is provenance only and must never be described as the number of platforms studied.

Source snapshot SHA-256 d4da096f356a0ce3ff03fa657c1d96b848994ce4f63db766161efd333339d094

Archived editions

Browse earlier published research snapshots for this article. The latest edition remains at the current URL.