AI Consensus Index

Best Stairlifts for Split-Level Homes (2026)

Bruno Independent Living Aids leads the September 2026 consensus ranking for Split-Level & Short-Run Staircases, followed by Harmar and Handicare 1100 Straight Stairlift with Zero Intrusion Option.

Seven-platform comparisonA transparent comparison of which providers receive repeated recognition across seven AI platforms.
Built for careful comparisonSee the strengths, limitations, pricing considerations, and questions worth investigating before you decide.
Best Stairlifts for Split-Level Homes (2026) hero image
stairliftsPublished by Aging in Place Index to support informed aging-in-place decisions.

Answer Capsule

Bruno Independent Living Aids leads the September 2026 consensus ranking for Split-Level & Short-Run Staircases, followed by Harmar and Handicare 1100 Straight Stairlift with Zero Intrusion Option. The current study includes 7 valid AI-platform responses and 6 qualifying entities. Compared with August 2026, the leader changed. The current list added Savaria and All American Stairlifts Dual-Straight Configuration Service and removed Stannah and AmeriGlide. This is an immediately preceding-month comparison. Rank movement measures changes in this collection of standardized AI-platform responses. It is not product testing, customer-review evidence, or proof that a provider's underlying quality improved or declined.

What Changed Since August 2026

This comparison uses the immediately preceding completed month.

Bruno Independent Living Aids remained No. 1 in September 2026. It was named by 5 platforms, compared with 7 in August 2026. Both studies used 7 valid platform responses.

The largest upward moves were Handicare 1100 Straight Stairlift with Zero Intrusion Option (up 3). The largest downward moves were Acorn Stairlifts (down 1).

The current qualifying set added Savaria and All American Stairlifts Dual-Straight Configuration Service. It no longer includes Stannah and AmeriGlide from the earlier top group. Entry or exit reflects the minimum-mention rule and the current response set, not a product launch, discontinuation, or quality finding.

Current rankEntityPrevious rankRank movementCurrent mentionsPrevious mentionsMention change
1Bruno Independent Living Aids1No change57-2
2Harmar2No change47-3
3Handicare 1100 Straight Stairlift with Zero Intrusion Option6Up 342+2
4Savaria—New4——
5Acorn Stairlifts4Down 144+0
6All American Stairlifts Dual-Straight Configuration Service—New2——
—Stannah3Exited—7—
—AmeriGlide5Exited—3—

The table is calculated directly from the two stored ranking datasets. Positive rank movement means an entity moved closer to No. 1; mention change shows the difference in the number of included platform responses naming it.

The August 2026 edition preserves the complete earlier ranking and methodology for reference.

Research Snapshot

  • Topic: Best stairlifts for split-level homes and short-run staircases
  • Target buyer: Homeowners with split-level layouts, short stair runs, or multiple half-flights that need flexible stairlift placement
  • Use case: Split-Level & Short-Run Staircases
  • Geography: United States
  • Platforms included: openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google (7 platforms)
  • Research date: 2026-09-27
  • Unique entities named: 20
  • Qualifying entities: 6
  • Eligibility rule: Named by at least two platforms during ranking discovery
  • Ranking unit: Stairlift model and manufacturer
  • Identity scope: Company

The Consensus Ranking

Questions This Section Answers

  • What are the best stairlifts for split-level homes and short-run staircases in 2026?
  • Which stairlift brands did the most AI platforms recommend for split-level layouts with multiple half-flights?

The table below is the sole authority for rank, platform mentions, platform share, average listed position, and best position. Platform mentions count only platforms that named the entity during ranking discovery; they do not count platforms that later completed a fit assessment.

RankEntityPlatform mentionsAverage listed positionBest positionBest considered for
1Bruno Independent Living Aids52.21Split-level homes with separate straight half-flights where transfers between lifts are acceptable.; Short straight runs with limited bottom landing clearance, when a folding rail or suitable parking arrangement solves the obstruction.; Homes with intermediate landings, bends, or multiple half-flights where continuous travel and custom rail placement are more important than minimum cost.
2Harmar43.51Split-level homes with separate straight stair sections and adequate transfer landings; Short straight runs where folded width and bottom-of-stair obstruction are important; Staircases with curves or 180-degree turns requiring a custom rail
3Handicare 1100 Straight Stairlift with Zero Intrusion Option43.52A single straight short run in a split-level home; Basement or upper-level stairs that terminate directly at a door; Installations where top-landing rail overrun and doorway obstruction are the main concerns
4Savaria44.01Split-level homes with turns or intermediate landings requiring one continuous curved stairlift; Tight landings where 90- or 180-degree parking, overrun, drop-nose, or powered-hinge options can improve clearance; Buyers needing dealer-measured, custom-fabricated rail geometry rather than a standard straight rail
5Acorn Stairlifts44.03Split-level homes with one or more straight half-flights where separate Acorn 130 lifts may be practical.; Multiple half-flights with turns or intermediate landings where an Acorn 180 curved rail can follow the staircase.; Buyers prioritizing fast installation and stair-mounted installation without structural wall modifications.
6All American Stairlifts Dual-Straight Configuration Service27.06Split-entry or split-level homes with two independent straight half-flights; Homeowners who want an in-home measurement and itemized written quote; Layouts where transferring between two stairlift seats at a landing is acceptable

Which Option Is Best for Which Version of the Buyer Need?

Questions This Section Answers

  • Which stairlift should a split-level homeowner choose if the staircase has a turn or intermediate landing?
  • Is a dual-straight configuration or a single curved stairlift better for a split-level home with two half-flights?
  • Which stairlift brand is best for a short straight run that ends at a doorway?
Buyer NeedBest-Fit EntityWhy
One continuous ride across turns and intermediate landingsSavaria (Freecurve)Custom single-rail curved lift with 90-/180-degree parking, overrun, drop-nose, and powered-hinge options [e4:openai:c4]
Custom curved rail with tight 180-degree turnsHarmar (Helix)Custom-fabricated True-Curve rail; CSL511 model explicitly supports intermediate landing configuration [e2:anthropic:helix_specs_1]
Single straight short run ending at a doorHandicare 1100 with Zero IntrusionZero Intrusion removes top rail overrun and finishes the footplate flush with the landing [e3:openai:c1]
Two separate straight half-flights with safe landing transferAll American Stairlifts Dual-Straight Configuration ServiceTwo-unit straight configuration with per-run measurement and combined quote [e6:openai:c1]
Narrowest folded straight profile for tight landingsHarmar (Pinnacle SL600)Folds to 10.5 inches from the wall; 13.6 inches with folding rail [e2:openai:c2]
Fast modular curved installationAcorn Stairlifts (180 with FastTrack)Modular interlocking rail sections assembled on site; company claims installation in days [e5:openai:c3]
Highest stated capacity on a curved indoor liftBruno (Elite Curved)400 lb capacity versus 300 lb on the Elan straight model [e1:openai:c4]
Lowest published straight-lift starting priceAll American StairliftsPublished straight starting price of about $2,800 [e6:official:C1]
Dealer-measured custom geometry with 3D previewSavariaPS4D photo-measuring system visualizes placement before purchase [e4:anthropic:c5]
Multiple independent straight lifts with one brandBruno or AcornBruno Elan and Acorn 130 both support separate straight half-flights [e1:anthropic:C1][e5:anthropic:acorn_straight_spec_1]
Watch Watch the video on YouTube on YouTube

1. Bruno Independent Living Aids

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is Bruno worth it for a split-level home with short half-flights, and what are its main drawbacks?
  • Which Bruno model should a buyer choose for a split-level staircase: the Elan straight lift or the Elite Curved?

Bruno Independent Living Aids is the consensus leader for split-level and short-run staircases, named by 5 of 7 platforms at an average listed position of 2.2 and a best position of 1. It ranked first on deepseek, google, and perplexity, third on kimi, and fifth on openai [e1:openai:c1][e1:anthropic:C1][e1:deepseek:bruno-elan-page][e1:grok:0][e1:perplexity:c1][e1:kimi:stairliftresource][e1:google:cit_mid_park]. The Bruno Independent Living Aids fit review covers the full evidence bundle.

Why it ranked here. Bruno offers two product paths that map directly onto split-level geometry: the Elan straight-rail lift for independent straight half-flights, and the Elite Curved for continuous travel through bends and intermediate landings [e1:openai:c1][e1:openai:c3]. Platforms consistently credited the folding-rail option, the narrow vertical rail profile, and the custom curved rail as the reasons Bruno fits this use case better than straight-only competitors [e1:anthropic:C3][e1:google:cit_custom_curved][e1:google:cit_folding_rail].

Best suited for. Split-level homes with separate straight half-flights where transfers between lifts are acceptable; short straight runs with limited bottom landing clearance where a folding rail solves the obstruction; and homes with intermediate landings, bends, or multiple half-flights where continuous travel and custom rail placement matter more than minimum cost [e1:openai:c1].

Main strengths for the use case. The Elan vertical rail installs within 5 inches of the wall, preserving stairway width on narrow split-level stairs [e1:anthropic:C3]. The Elan carriage with folded armrests, seat, and footrest occupies only 12 inches of width [e1:anthropic:C2]. The Elite Curved uses a handcrafted rail made specifically for the staircase and can accommodate extended rails and custom park positions, including 90- or 180-degree parking [e1:openai:c4]. Bruno lists the Elan at 300 lb capacity and the Elite indoor series at 400 lb capacity [e1:openai:c1][e1:anthropic:C5]. Battery operation delivers 12-24 hours on the Elan and 28-36 hours on the Elite if power is disconnected [e1:anthropic:C1][e1:anthropic:C5]. Bruno lists a limited lifetime warranty on major components for the indoor Elite Curved [e1:openai:c7].

Main limitations. A single Elan cannot travel through a landing or bend; using two Elans requires a transfer at the split-level landing [e1:openai:c1]. The curved solution is substantially more expensive and custom-built, increasing lead time and purchase risk if measurements or requirements change [e1:openai:c1]. Bruno does not publish a single national installed price, so total installed cost cannot be compared without multiple dealer quotes [e1:openai:c6][e1:deepseek:bruno-dealer-locator]. The Elan SRE-3050 is not recommended for users performing scoot-pivot transfers from a wheelchair or those with uncontrolled leg buckling [e1:anthropic:C1]. Public information does not establish a universal minimum stair length or guaranteed fit for every short-run layout [e1:openai:c1].

Pricing or cost summary. Bruno does not provide a single national installed price. Independent 2026 estimates place the Elan straight lift around $3,000-$5,500 installed or approximately $3,000 before installation, while Elite Curved estimates commonly range from about $9,000 to $16,000 installed [e1:openai:c9]. Google-reported figures place the Elan at $3,000-$6,000 installed and the Elite Curved at $10,000-$17,000+ installed [e1:google:cit_altamira_straight][e1:google:cit_altamira_costs]. Perplexity-reported dealer listings show the Elan from about $2,800 to $3,995 installed or quoted [e1:perplexity:c4]. Kimi-reported estimates place straight units at $2,000-$4,000 and curved rails at $7,000-$18,000 [e1:kimi:stairliftresource]. These are estimates, not guaranteed Bruno prices. Pricing confidence across platforms is low.

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings ranged from "strong" on google to "mixed" on deepseek and perplexity [e1:google:cit_mid_park][e1:deepseek:bruno-elan-page][e1:perplexity:c1]. Anthropic reported a standard minimum track length of 15 feet 9 inches, which may exceed very short runs, while kimi reported a 3-4 step minimum that makes short half-flights viable [e1:anthropic:C1][e1:kimi:stairliftresource]. Bruno's official guide describes curved installation as typically less than half a day, while its cost page gives a broader 4-8 hour range [e1:openai:c6]. Independent 2026 pricing estimates conflict because some figures include installation and options while others describe equipment-only or starting prices [e1:openai:c9][e1:perplexity:c1].

What Changed Since August 2026

Bruno Independent Living Aids remained at No. 1, and platform mentions decreased from 7 to 5. The September 2026 article shifts Bruno Independent Living Aids from a general verdict to a use-case breakdown, splitting the Elan straight lift for separate half-flights from the Elite Curved for continuous travel through landings and bends. The earlier write-up emphasized a mid-rail charging station and a 100% platform share; the current version drops the charging station and instead reports battery operation lasting 12-24 hours on the Elan and 28-36 hours on the Elite, plus a minimum track length of 15 feet. Pricing evidence is refreshed: the current article newly reports $3,000-$5,500 and $3,000 for the Elan, while the prior $8,000-$14,000 total for two Elan units is not repeated. The earlier 2–4 hour straight installation estimate also no longer appears. Differences between the two editions reflect what each article reports; they do not by themselves prove that the product, service, or price changed.

2. Harmar

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is Harmar or Bruno better for a split-level home that needs a custom curved rail with tight turns?
  • Which Harmar model should a buyer choose for a short straight run in a split-level home?

Harmar ranked second, named by 4 of 7 platforms at an average listed position of 3.5 and a best position of 1. It ranked first on openai, second on google, fourth on perplexity, and seventh on kimi [e2:openai:c1][e2:google:1.1.3][e2:perplexity:c1][e2:kimi:stairliftresource]. The Harmar fit review covers the full evidence bundle.

Why it ranked here. Harmar covers both sides of the split-level problem: the Pinnacle SL600 straight lift for compact short runs, and the Helix custom curved lift for tight turns and intermediate landings [e2:openai:c1][e2:openai:c3]. The Helix CSL511 model explicitly supports an intermediate landing configuration for split-level layouts [e2:anthropic:helix_specs_1]. Google rated Harmar "strong" because the portfolio also includes the modular UP Curved lift for rapid next-day configurations [e2:google:1.2.1][e2:google:1.2.9].

Best suited for. Split-level homes with separate straight stair sections and adequate transfer landings; short straight runs where folded width and bottom-of-stair obstruction matter; and staircases with curves or 180-degree turns requiring a custom rail [e2:openai:c1].

Main strengths for the use case. The SL600 folds to 10.5 inches from the wall, or approximately 13.6 inches with the optional folding rail [e2:openai:c2]. The Helix uses a custom-fabricated True-Curve steel rail made to match exact angles, turns, and intermediate landings [e2:google:1.1.3]. The Helix supports mid-level parking at intermediate landings with charging strips above and below hinge locations [e2:anthropic:helix_owners_manual]. Both systems include obstruction sensors, seat swivel interlocks, retractable seat belts, and overspeed brakes [e2:openai:c2][e2:perplexity:c1]. The SL600 is operable for up to 60 up/down cycles during a power outage [e2:anthropic:sl600_specs_1].

Main limitations. A single standard straight lift will not automatically solve a home with several disconnected half-flights [e2:openai:c1]. Curved systems are substantially more expensive and installation timing is less predictable [e2:openai:c1]. The SL600 minimum published track length of 15 feet 6 inches may be material for extremely short runs [e2:openai:c1]. The modular UP Curved lift has a lower maximum capacity of 275 lb versus 350 lb on the Helix and SL600 [e2:google:1.2.8]. Harmar does not publish model-specific national installed pricing [e2:openai:c1][e2:anthropic:harmar_website].

Pricing or cost summary. Independent 2026 sources describe approximate installed planning ranges of $2,500-$5,000 for straight systems and about $8,000-$15,000 or more for curved systems [e2:openai:c7][e2:google:2.2.2]. An independent dealer listing reported an SL600 sale price of approximately $4,495 [e2:openai:c8]. A third-party reseller listing shows a Helix starting price of $10,995, and a retail quote of $7,995 installed appears in another source [e2:perplexity:c7][e2:google:2.2.9]. Harmar's own buyer guide says curved stairlifts generally start around $9,000 [e2:perplexity:c6]. Pricing confidence is low to moderate.

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings ranged from "strong" on google to "mixed" on grok and kimi [e2:google:1.1.3][e2:grok:web:0][e2:kimi:stairliftresource]. Helix incline limit documentation varies: product specs show up to 58 degrees, the owner's manual claims 62 degrees maximum, and one brochure lists 53 degrees with 57 degrees for the drop-nose option [e2:anthropic:helix_specs_1][e2:anthropic:helix_owners_manual][e2:anthropic:helix_brochure]. SL600 warranty terms differ across sources: one document lists a 10-year gear-rack warranty and lifetime motor warranty, another lists 3-year parts and 1-year battery [e2:openai:c2][e2:anthropic:sl600_specs_1]. Kimi reported that no source confirms whether the Helix or UP can traverse flat landings horizontally between split-level flights [e2:kimi:stairliftresource].

What Changed Since August 2026

Harmar remained at No. 2, and platform mentions decreased from 7 to 4. The September 2026 article substantially rewrites how Harmar is presented, with a sharper split-level focus: the Pinnacle SL600 for compact straight runs and the Helix custom curved rail for tight turns and intermediate landings. The new write-up reports a 15-foot measurement tied to the SL600's minimum published track length. On cost, the article now cites installed planning ranges of $2,500-$5,000 for straight systems and $8,000-$15,000 or more for curved ones; the earlier straight-lift range is no longer repeated. Much of the prior model detail, including the SL300 and UP framing and the disputed spiral compatibility, has been dropped, so buyers get a narrower but more specific fit picture. Differences between the two editions reflect what each article reports; they do not by themselves prove that the product, service, or price changed.

3. Handicare 1100 Straight Stairlift with Zero Intrusion Option

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is the Handicare 1100 with Zero Intrusion worth it for a short straight run that ends at a doorway?
  • What extra bottom-landing clearance does the Handicare 1100 Zero Intrusion option require?

The Handicare 1100 with Zero Intrusion ranked third, named by 4 of 7 platforms at an average listed position of 3.5 and a best position of 2. It ranked second on grok and fourth on anthropic, deepseek, and kimi [e3:grok:0][e3:anthropic:c1][e3:deepseek:c1][e3:kimi:src1]. The Handicare 1100 Straight Stairlift with Zero Intrusion Option fit review covers the full evidence bundle.

Why it ranked here. The Zero Intrusion configuration is specifically engineered for stairs that finish at a door, which is a common split-level condition [e3:openai:c1][e3:perplexity:c1]. It eliminates the normal top rail overrun by using special support extensions and a front chassis plate that brings the footrest back toward the top nosing, allowing the footplate to finish flush with the landing [e3:anthropic:c1][e3:grok:0]. No other qualifying entity in this study is described as solving that specific top-landing problem.

Best suited for. A single straight short run in a split-level home; basement or upper-level stairs that terminate directly at a door; and installations where top-landing rail overrun and doorway obstruction are the main concerns [e3:openai:c1].

Main strengths for the use case. The Zero Intrusion configuration removes the top rail overrun and is intended to avoid obstruction at a top landing door [e3:openai:c1]. The 1100 has a slim rail profile with a minimum track intrusion of 6.3 inches when the stringer is more than 10 mm above the steps [e3:anthropic:c4]. The folded footrest profile is approximately 12.6 inches [e3:openai:c6]. Continuous charging allows the seat to be parked anywhere on the rail [e3:perplexity:c5]. The four-motor friction-drive system keeps the unit operable if one motor fails [e3:anthropic:c2]. Published specifications identify a seat belt, battery operation, obstruction sensors, emergency stop, and swivel-seat options [e3:openai:c6].

Main limitations. The 1100 is a straight stairlift and cannot follow a bend or cross an intermediate landing as one continuous rail [e3:openai:c1][e3:deepseek:c3]. Zero Intrusion is limited to 30-45 degree inclines and cannot be combined with Easy Hinge or Slide Track [e3:anthropic:c5][e3:perplexity:c3]. Zero Intrusion may require approximately 6.7 inches of additional bottom parking space because the rail is moved forward [e3:openai:c4][e3:google:ability_concepts]. The US-facing product information lists a standard capacity of 310 lb [e3:openai:c6]. Kimi reported the 1100 requires a minimum of approximately 4 steps and is described as bulkier than some competitors' compact models for very short flights [e3:kimi:src5].

Pricing or cost summary. No current, verified US purchase price or installed-price range for the 1100 with Zero Intrusion was found in the reviewed sources [e3:openai:c1]. Dealer pages show the base 1100 straight stairlift around $3,190-$3,999 unit-only [e3:perplexity:c6][e3:perplexity:c9]. Google-reported figures place the base 1100 at $2,995-$3,995 installed, with the Zero Intrusion kit as an add-on costing between $360 and $694 [e3:google:albany_lift_co][e3:google:ability_concepts]. Grok reported an installed range of $2,500-$4,500 for the 1100 straight model [e3:grok:15]. Pricing confidence is low to moderate.

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings ranged from "strong" on grok to "mixed" on anthropic, deepseek, google, kimi, and openai, with perplexity rating it "good" [e3:grok:0][e3:anthropic:c1][e3:deepseek:c1][e3:google:albany_lift_co][e3:kimi:src1][e3:openai:c1][e3:perplexity:c1]. Kimi could not verify Handicare's official claim that the 1100 is one of the slimmest folded stairlifts, and could not confirm whether the minimum is 3 steps or strictly 4 or more [e3:kimi:src5]. Perplexity noted that the official US Handicare site content was not fully verified in retrieved sources, so some product-page claims are supported mainly by dealer or distributor pages [e3:perplexity:c1]. Deepseek reported that the official website retrieval failed during normalization [e3:deepseek:c1].

What Changed Since August 2026

Handicare 1100 Straight Stairlift with Zero Intrusion Option moved up from No. 6 to No. 3, and platform mentions increased from 2 to 4. The September 2026 article narrows Handicare's entry to a single named product, the 1100 Straight Stairlift with Zero Intrusion Option, where the earlier write-up treated Handicare as a broader brand spanning the Freecurve and 4000. The current section centers on the Zero Intrusion configuration that keeps the footplate flush with a top landing, while the prior piece emphasized curved-rail flexibility and multi-model coverage. Updated pricing evidence reports $3,190-$3,999 unit-only and $2,995-$3,995 installed for the base 1100; the earlier $2,500–$5,000 straight-1100 installed range is no longer repeated. Earlier warranty, fabrication, and installation-timeline figures also drop away. Differences between the two editions reflect what each article reports; they do not by themselves prove that the product, service, or price changed.

4. Savaria

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is Savaria or Harmar better for a split-level home that needs one continuous curved rail across multiple half-flights?
  • What does a Savaria Freecurve curved stairlift cost for a split-level home with turns and intermediate landings?

Savaria ranked fourth, named by 4 of 7 platforms at an average listed position of 4.0 and a best position of 1. It ranked first on anthropic, third on google and openai, and ninth on deepseek [e4:anthropic:c1][e4:google:1.1.1][e4:openai:c1][e4:deepseek:C1]. The Savaria fit review covers the full evidence bundle.

Why it ranked here. Savaria's Freecurve single-rail curved stairlift is explicitly positioned for narrow, spiral, and complicated staircases with multiple intermittent landings [e4:perplexity:c2][e4:grok:6]. Savaria also markets the Handicare 4000 custom curved twin-rail lift and the Stairfriend 23 twin-rail lift, giving buyers three curved options with different rail widths and capacities [e4:anthropic:c2][e4:anthropic:c4]. The proprietary PS4D photo-measuring system lets dealers visualize stairlift placement in 3D before purchase [e4:anthropic:c5].

Best suited for. Split-level homes with turns or intermediate landings requiring one continuous curved stairlift; tight landings where 90- or 180-degree parking, overrun, drop-nose, or powered-hinge options can improve clearance; and buyers needing dealer-measured, custom-fabricated rail geometry rather than a standard straight rail [e4:openai:c1].

Main strengths for the use case. The Freecurve uses a custom single-tube rail with a minimum track-to-wall distance of 6.8 inches [e4:google:1.1.1]. It supports 0-61 degree inclines, the steepest among the Savaria curved models [e4:anthropic:c6]. Parking options include 90- or 180-degree positions, top or bottom overrun, a drop-nose rail, and a powered folding hinge [e4:openai:c4]. The Freecurve offers a powered swivel seat, powered footrest, optional active seat, retractable seatbelt, obstruction sensors, and anti-slip footrest material [e4:openai:c4][e4:anthropic:c7]. The Stairfriend 23 and Handicare 4000 twin-rail models offer 300 lb standard capacity with an optional 350 lb upgrade [e4:anthropic:c2][e4:anthropic:c4].

Main limitations. The Freecurve standard capacity is 275 lb with no higher option, so heavier users must step up to a twin-rail model [e4:anthropic:c6]. Savaria does not publish installed pricing on its website [e4:openai:c7][e4:perplexity:c7]. Custom rail fabrication takes up to 2 weeks standard [e4:anthropic:c5]. The Freecurve and Stairfriend 23 are indoor-only, so split-level homes with outdoor staircase elements cannot use those models [e4:anthropic:c6]. Kimi reported that no verified minimum step count or minimum rail length for the Freecurve, K2, or Handicare-configured products was found in available sources [e4:kimi:savaria_official_unclear].

Pricing or cost summary. Savaria's own 2026 guidance says curved stairlifts generally start around $10,000 USD installed and typically range from $10,000 to $25,000, while straight stairlifts are listed at about $3,300 to $5,000 [e4:perplexity:c7]. One Canadian dealer listing shows the Freecurve base at CAD $12,440 with option add-ons: 90-degree turns +CAD $555-$2,670; 180-degree turns +CAD $1,775-$3,375; parking positions +CAD $1,912-$2,418; powered swivel +CAD $1,216-$1,806; active seat +CAD $1,068; powered footrest +CAD $990; power hinge +CAD $4,622 [e4:anthropic:c8]. Grok reported a curved Freecurve installed estimate of $10,000-$15,000+ [e4:grok:19]. Pricing confidence is low to moderate.

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings ranged from "strong" on google and grok to "uncertain" on kimi, with anthropic, deepseek, openai, and perplexity rating it "good" [e4:google:1.1.1][e4:grok:0][e4:kimi:savaria_official_unclear][e4:anthropic:c1][e4:deepseek:C1][e4:openai:c1][e4:perplexity:c1]. Authorized dealer specifications conflict on the Freecurve weight capacity, with some citing 275 lb and others citing 300 lb [e4:google:1.1.1]. The ranking-stage product naming mixes Savaria and Handicare branding, and some mentions remain identity-unverified [e4:perplexity:c1]. Kimi reported that the official Savaria website could not be retrieved for verification, so all product claims are unverified against the primary source [e4:kimi:savaria_official_unclear]. The requested twin-rail configuration for tight-angle split-level homes could not be verified in reviewed current Savaria materials [e4:openai:c1].

5. Acorn Stairlifts

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is Acorn Stairlifts worth it for a split-level home that needs fast installation on a curved staircase?
  • What is the Acorn 180 curved stairlift weight limit, and what warranty applies?

Acorn Stairlifts ranked fifth, named by 4 of 7 platforms at an average listed position of 4.0 and a best position of 3. It ranked third on deepseek and perplexity, fourth on openai, and sixth on google [e5:deepseek:c1][e5:perplexity:c1][e5:openai:c1][e5:google:acorn_official]. The Acorn Stairlifts fit review covers the full evidence bundle.

Why it ranked here. Acorn offers both a short-run-capable straight model and a modular curved model. The Acorn 180 with FastTrack is explicitly designed for staircases with bends, quarter-turns, half-landings, and spirals, operating as a single continuous journey with no manual transfer required at turns [e5:anthropic:acorn_curved_spec_2]. The FastTrack modular rail system uses interlocking sections assembled on site rather than custom-welded metal, which the company claims enables installation within days of the survey [e5:openai:c3][e5:google:acorn_official].

Best suited for. Split-level homes with one or more straight half-flights where separate Acorn 130 lifts may be practical; multiple half-flights with turns or intermediate landings where an Acorn 180 curved rail can follow the staircase; and buyers prioritizing fast installation and stair-mounted installation without structural wall modifications [e5:openai:c1].

Main strengths for the use case. The Acorn 180 supports custom parking positions around corners and half-landings, and Acorn-approved technicians can shorten curved rails and configure intermediate charge points or hinged landing positions to clear doorways [e5:anthropic:acorn_curved_spec_2]. The hinged rail option is designed to remove trip hazards at the foot of stairs [e5:openai:c6][e5:perplexity:c2]. The 180 includes a swivel seat with 45- and 88-degree rotation at the top, safety interlocks on folding arms, a seatbelt, and automatic slowdown on bends [e5:anthropic:acorn_curved_user_manual]. Both models are certified to ASME A18.1 and A17.5 and carry CE marks [e5:anthropic:acorn_straight_spec_1]. Acorn states that the 130 requires about 26 inches of stair width and the 180 about 27.5 inches [e5:openai:c4].

Main limitations. The Acorn 130 straight model cannot serve split-level layouts with multiple half-flights without manual transfer between sections [e5:openai:c1]. The Acorn 180 curved lift is rated to approximately 264-265 lb, lower than the 280 lb limit of its straight counterpart [e5:openai:c10][e5:anthropic:acorn_curved_spec_1]. Acorn does not publish installed pricing, so all quotes require on-site surveys [e5:openai:c1][e5:deepseek:c3]. Independent reviews report a base warranty of about 12 months, shorter than some competitors [e5:openai:c12][e5:google:modernize_review]. Google noted that modular FastTrack rail joints can occasionally feel less smooth than continuous, custom-welded rails [e5:google:acorn_official].

Pricing or cost summary. Independent 2026 estimates place Acorn straight installations around $3,000-$5,000 and curved installations around $8,000-$15,000 or more [e5:openai:c11][e5:grok:web:1][e5:google:modernize_review]. A broader independent report gives $3,000-$15,000 as a company-attributed range but does not clarify whether installation is included [e5:openai:c10]. Acorn advertises a free, no-obligation quote and survey [e5:perplexity:c3]. Pricing confidence is low to moderate.

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings ranged from "good" on anthropic, google, grok, kimi, and openai to "mixed" on deepseek and perplexity [e5:anthropic:acorn_curved_spec_1][e5:google:acorn_official][e5:grok:web:0][e5:kimi:StairliftResource_splitlevel][e5:openai:c1][e5:deepseek:c1][e5:perplexity:c1]. FastTrack installation speed is advertised as "installation in days," but the exact timeline is not specified and no independent validation was found [e5:anthropic:acorn_curved_spec_3]. Warranty length is listed as 12 months in some reviews, but exact terms are unclear without a quote [e5:grok:web:3]. Kimi could not verify whether the Acorn 130 supports a minimum of 3 steps or strictly 4 or more [e5:kimi:StairliftResource_splitlevel]. Anthropic found no independent customer reviews or satisfaction data for the US market [e5:anthropic:acorn_curved_spec_1].

What Changed Since August 2026

Acorn Stairlifts moved down from No. 4 to No. 5, and platform mentions were unchanged at 4. The September 2026 article keeps Acorn's core pitch intact: the 180 with FastTrack remains the pick for split-level staircases with turns or landings, and the 130 stays the straight-run option. The recommended configuration is unchanged. The most consequential shift for buyers is pricing evidence. The current article reports straight installations at $3,000-$5,000 and curved at $8,000-$15,000 or more; the prior figure of $2,500–$5,000 for the straight model is no longer repeated, and the extended-warranty and payment-plan figures also drop out. A roughly 12-month base warranty is newly reported here, described as shorter than some competitors offer. Differences between the two editions reflect what each article reports; they do not by themselves prove that the product, service, or price changed.

6. All American Stairlifts Dual-Straight Configuration Service

Questions This Section Answers

  • Is the All American Stairlifts dual-straight configuration worth it for a split-level home with two short half-flights?
  • What landing clearance does a dual-straight stairlift configuration require for safe transfer between two units?

All American Stairlifts' Dual-Straight Configuration Service ranked sixth, named by 2 of 7 platforms at an average listed position of 7.0 and a best position of 6. It ranked sixth on perplexity and eighth on anthropic [e6:perplexity:c1][e6:anthropic:C1]. Six of seven platforms returned a usable fit assessment, but only two named the entity during ranking discovery. The All American Stairlifts Dual-Straight Configuration Service fit review covers the full evidence bundle.

Why it ranked here. The service directly addresses two separate short stair runs with two straight lifts, allowing each half-flight to be measured and priced separately [e6:openai:c1][e6:openai:c2]. The company states that split-entry homes with two short runs can use two compact straight rails, with each run priced separately and both quoted together when needed [e6:openai:c1]. It is the only qualifying entity in this study that is a configuration service rather than a manufacturer product line.

Best suited for. Split-entry or split-level homes with two independent straight half-flights; homeowners who want an in-home measurement and itemized written quote; and layouts where transferring between two stairlift seats at a landing is acceptable [e6:openai:c1].

Main strengths for the use case. The company states that quotes are written, itemized, and in some local pages honored for 30 days [e6:openai:c6][e6:openai:c7]. A free 45-minute in-home assessment includes laser measurement of stair configuration and rider evaluation, with explicit documentation of landing dimensions [e6:anthropic:C5]. Manual and powered swivel-seat options are offered to aid landing transfers [e6:anthropic:C1]. Straight rails are cut to exact length on-site, eliminating pre-fabrication delays [e6:anthropic:C2]. The company claims to coordinate licensed, insured installers across all 50 states [e6:openai:c8].

Main limitations. The dual-straight configuration requires the occupant to walk 3-5 feet across the landing between lifts, and the company explicitly states that if balance or mobility makes that walk dangerous, this option does not solve the problem [e6:anthropic:C1]. Two lifts mean two transfers, two charging locations, and two units to maintain [e6:openai:c1]. Minimum stair length, minimum landing dimensions, and exact parking clearances are not publicly specified [e6:openai:c1]. The company does not employ in-house installation crews; quality depends on local vetted installer availability and performance [e6:anthropic:C6]. Kimi reported that no publicly accessible documentation from All American Stairlifts details their specific approach to split-level homes, short-run staircases, dual-straight configurations, landing dimensions, or transfer procedures [e6:kimi:source_independent_none_found].

Pricing or cost summary. Published local pages state straight installations generally start around $2,800, with typical ranges of approximately $2,800-$5,500 [e6:openai:c7][e6:official:C1]. A split-level requiring two units is quoted separately for each run, so the total should not be inferred from a single-unit starting price [e6:openai:c1]. Anthropic-reported figures place the two-unit split-level configuration at $5,000-$11,000 installed, with a mid-tier estimate of approximately $6,400-$9,000 for both units [e6:anthropic:C1]. Google-reported figures place the dual-straight setup at approximately $5,000-$9,000 total [e6:google:5.4.2]. Pricing confidence is moderate.

Where platforms disagreed. Fit ratings ranged from "strong" on anthropic and grok to "uncertain" on kimi, with openai and google rating it "good" and perplexity rating it "mixed" [e6:anthropic:C1][e6:grok:web:0][e6:kimi:source_independent_none_found][e6:openai:c1][e6:google:5.4.2][e6:perplexity:c1]. Kimi could not independently verify the exact service name "Dual-Straight Configuration Service" as an official All American Stairlifts offering, suggesting it may be a ranking-stage construct [e6:kimi:source_independent_none_found]. Perplexity noted that it is unclear whether the recommended dual-straight configuration is an actual standardized offering or an inference from straight-lift installation on split-level homes [e6:perplexity:c1]. Published pricing and inclusions differ by local page, and included first-service or warranty terms are not uniform [e6:openai:c1].

What the Cross-Platform Study Reveals About This Market

Questions This Section Answers

  • What do AI platforms agree on about the best stairlift brands for split-level homes in 2026?
  • Why do AI platforms recommend different stairlift brands for the same split-level use case?

Three structural patterns emerge from the cross-platform evidence. First, the split-level problem is really two problems: a single straight short run, and a multi-flight journey with turns or intermediate landings. Platforms that emphasized the first problem favored Handicare's Zero Intrusion and Harmar's Pinnacle SL600 [e3:openai:c1][e2:openai:c1]. Platforms that emphasized the second favored Bruno's Elite Curved, Savaria's Freecurve, and Harmar's Helix [e1:openai:c3][e4:perplexity:c2][e2:openai:c3].

Second, the dual-straight configuration is a genuine cost alternative that platforms treat inconsistently. Bruno, Harmar, Acorn, and All American Stairlifts all describe two-straight-lift arrangements for split-level homes [e1:openai:c1][e2:openai:c1][e5:openai:c1][e6:openai:c1]. Only All American Stairlifts is ranked as a dedicated dual-straight service, and it qualified with just 2 platform mentions. The transfer-safety tradeoff is the recurring caveat: every platform that discussed dual-straight configurations flagged the landing transfer as the highest-risk point [e6:google:5.4.2][e6:anthropic:C1][e1:openai:c1].

Third, pricing transparency is the weakest dimension across the entire market. Bruno, Harmar, Savaria, and Acorn all sell through dealer networks and do not publish model-specific national installed prices [e1:openai:c6][e2:openai:c1][e4:openai:c7][e5:openai:c1]. Only All American Stairlifts publishes a straight-lift starting price, and even that is a per-unit figure that does not translate directly to a two-unit split-level total [e6:official:C1].

Where the AI Platforms Agreed

Questions This Section Answers

  • Which stairlift features do all AI platforms agree matter most for split-level short-run staircases?

Platforms converged on several points. All seven platforms that assessed Bruno rated it a good or strong fit for at least some split-level configurations [e1:openai:c1][e1:anthropic:C1][e1:deepseek:bruno-elan-page][e1:grok:0][e1:perplexity:c1][e1:kimi:stairliftresource][e1:google:cit_mid_park]. All platforms that discussed the dual-straight approach agreed that the landing transfer is the critical safety variable [e6:google:5.4.2][e6:anthropic:C1][e1:openai:c1][e2:openai:c1]. All platforms that discussed curved lifts agreed that custom curved rails cost substantially more than straight rails [e1:openai:c9][e2:openai:c7][e4:perplexity:c7][e5:openai:c11]. All platforms that discussed folding rails agreed they address bottom-of-stair and doorway obstructions [e1:openai:c2][e2:openai:c2][e3:openai:c5][e5:openai:c6]. All platforms that discussed weight capacity agreed that curved models generally have lower limits than straight models [e1:openai:c1][e2:google:1.2.8][e4:anthropic:c6][e5:openai:c10].

Where the AI Platforms Disagreed

Questions This Section Answers

  • Why do AI platforms disagree about whether Bruno or Savaria is the best curved stairlift for split-level homes?

The most material disagreement is about which entity is the strongest curved-lift option. Anthropic ranked Savaria first and Bruno second [e4:anthropic:c1][e1:anthropic:C1]. Google ranked Bruno first and Savaria third [e1:google:cit_mid_park][e4:google:1.1.1]. Deepseek ranked Bruno first and Savaria ninth [e1:deepseek:bruno-elan-page][e4:deepseek:C1]. This divergence reflects different weightings of custom fabrication precision versus dealer network breadth versus published evidence quality.

A second disagreement concerns Harmar's fit. Google rated Harmar "strong" and ranked it second [e2:google:1.1.3]. Kimi rated Harmar "mixed" and ranked it seventh, citing the absence of a wheelchair platform option and unverified curved-rail landing traversal [e2:kimi:stairliftresource]. Grok also rated Harmar "mixed," citing dealer service variability and pricing opacity [e2:grok:web:0].

A third disagreement concerns the Handicare 1100's short-run suitability. Grok rated it "strong" [e3:grok:0]. Kimi reported the 1100 requires a minimum of approximately 4 steps and is bulkier than some competitors' compact models for very short flights [e3:kimi:src5]. Anthropic reported a 3-step minimum [e3:anthropic:c4]. This is a factual conflict about minimum run length, not a difference of opinion.

A fourth disagreement concerns All American Stairlifts' evidence base. Anthropic and grok rated it "strong" [e6:anthropic:C1][e6:grok:web:0]. Kimi rated it "uncertain" because no independent or company-sourced evidence was found detailing exact products, models, pricing, installation practices, or split-level-specific capabilities [e6:kimi:source_independent_none_found]. Perplexity rated it "mixed" for the same reason [e6:perplexity:c1].

How Buyers Should Choose

Questions This Section Answers

  • What should a buyer check before choosing a stairlift for a split-level home with short stair runs?
  • Which stairlift for a split-level home has the lowest published cost, and what fees apply?

Start with the staircase, not the brand. Count the half-flights, measure each run, and note whether any run turns, ends at a door, or terminates at a landing too small for a transfer. If every run is straight and independent, a dual-straight configuration from Bruno, Harmar, Acorn, or All American Stairlifts may be the lowest-cost path [e1:openai:c1][e2:openai:c1][e5:openai:c1][e6:openai:c1]. If any run turns or the user cannot safely transfer, a single curved rail from Bruno, Harmar, Savaria, or Acorn is the relevant category [e1:openai:c3][e2:openai:c3][e4:perplexity:c2][e5:anthropic:acorn_curved_spec_2].

If the binding constraint is a top landing that ends at a door, the Handicare 1100 with Zero Intrusion is the only qualifying entity in this study specifically engineered for that condition [e3:openai:c1]. If the binding constraint is a very narrow landing, Harmar's Pinnacle SL600 folds to 10.5 inches, the narrowest published folded width among the qualifying entities [e2:openai:c2].

On cost, the lowest published starting price among qualifying entities is All American Stairlifts at about $2,800 for a straight unit, but a split-level home needing two units should expect roughly double that before options [e6:official:C1][e6:openai:c1]. Curved systems from Bruno, Harmar, Savaria, and Acorn generally start around $8,000-$10,000 and can exceed $17,000 for complex configurations [e1:openai:c9][e2:openai:c7][e4:perplexity:c7][e5:openai:c11]. Every qualifying entity except All American Stairlifts sells through dealers and does not publish model-specific national installed prices, so buyers should obtain at least two itemized written quotes before committing [e1:openai:c6][e2:openai:c1][e4:openai:c7][e5:openai:c1].

Methodology

This study sent one standardized prompt once to each of 7 included platforms: openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, and google. The research date was 2026-09-27. The study identified 20 unique entities and 6 qualifying entities. The eligibility rule was named by at least two platforms during ranking discovery. The final ranking order is based on platform mentions, then average listed rank, then best listed rank. Platform mentions count only ranking-discovery mentions; they do not count platforms that later completed a fit assessment. All included platforms evaluated fit, but platform_mentions counts only platforms that named the entity during ranking discovery. Citations are platform-reported evidence, not independently verified facts. The supplied URLs were collected from platform responses and were not independently validated by the writer stage. Company-owned citations materially outnumber independent citations for several entities, and company claims should not be described as independently verified.

Methodology Limitations

AI answers can vary by date, wording, location, account state, model, interface, browsing configuration, and the sources retrieved. Platform-reported research dates differ from the authoritative run date: anthropic reported 2026-01-15 for Bruno, 2025-01-01 for Harmar, 2026-01-15 for Handicare, 2026-01-10 for Savaria, 2026-01-15 for Acorn, and 2026-01-15 for All American Stairlifts; deepseek reported 2026-02-14 for Bruno, 2026-01-15 for Handicare, 2026-06-11 for Savaria, 2026-06-12 for Acorn, and 2026-09-27 for Harmar. These platform-reported dates are provenance metadata and do not independently prove freshness. Deepseek ran with search disabled, so its claims require explicit verification before being described as current facts. Official-site retrieval failed for Handicare, Savaria, and Acorn during normalization, and the Savaria official page returned HTTP 403. Company-name variants were collapsed onto one canonical brand before minimum_mentions qualification, and a product-labeled company mention was merged using matching company-name and supplied-domain signatures. Six of seven included platforms returned a usable fit assessment for All American Stairlifts; the fit findings for that entity should not be described as unanimous. Platform recommendations are market intelligence, not independent customer reviews or proof of quality. No public source reviewed establishes a guaranteed fit, transfer outcome, or safety outcome for a particular homeowner or staircase.

Final Verdict

Bruno Independent Living Aids is the consensus leader for split-level and short-run staircases, with the broadest platform recognition and the widest product coverage across straight and curved configurations. Harmar is the strongest alternative when the buyer needs a custom curved rail with tight 180-degree turns or the narrowest folded straight profile. Handicare's 1100 with Zero Intrusion is the specialist choice for a single straight run ending at a door. Savaria is the strongest alternative when one continuous curved rail must serve multiple half-flights with intermediate landings. Acorn Stairlifts is the fastest-installing modular curved option. All American Stairlifts' Dual-Straight Configuration Service is the most transparently priced dual-straight option, but it qualified with only 2 platform mentions and its evidence base is largely company-authored. No single entity is best for every split-level layout; the correct choice depends on whether the runs are straight or turning, whether the user can safely transfer at a landing, and whether the buyer prioritizes published pricing over custom fabrication.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best stairlift for a split-level home in 2026?

Bruno Independent Living Aids is the consensus leader, named by 5 of 7 platforms at an average listed position of 2.2. Harmar, Handicare 1100 with Zero Intrusion, Savaria, and Acorn Stairlifts also qualified.

Can one stairlift serve multiple half-flights in a split-level home?

Only a curved stairlift can serve multiple half-flights in one continuous ride. Bruno's Elite Curved, Harmar's Helix, Savaria's Freecurve, and Acorn's 180 are the qualifying curved options. Straight lifts require one unit per half-flight and a transfer at each landing.

How much does a stairlift for a split-level home cost?

Published starting prices range from about $2,800 for a single straight unit to $10,000-$17,000+ for a custom curved system. A split-level home needing two straight units should expect roughly double the single-unit price before options.

What is the Zero Intrusion option on the Handicare 1100?

Zero Intrusion removes the normal top rail overrun by using special support extensions and a front chassis plate, allowing the footplate to finish flush with the landing. It is limited to 30-45 degree inclines and cannot be combined with Easy Slide or Slide Track.

Do stairlifts for split-level homes require a landing transfer?

Only dual-straight configurations require a landing transfer. A single curved rail eliminates transfers. The landing transfer is the highest-risk point of a dual-straight trip and is unsuitable for users with severe balance problems or wheelchair dependence.

What weight capacity do split-level stairlifts support?

Bruno's Elan supports 300 lb and the Elite Curved supports 400 lb. Harmar's Helix and SL600 support 350 lb, and the modular UP Curved supports 275 lb. Savaria's Freecurve supports 275 lb, and the Stairfriend 23 and Handicare 4000 support 300 lb standard with an optional 350 lb upgrade. Acorn's 180 supports approximately 264-265 lb.

Do split-level stairlifts require professional installation?

Yes. Every qualifying entity requires dealer or professional installation. Bruno, Harmar, Savaria, and Acorn sell through authorized dealer networks. All American Stairlifts coordinates licensed, insured independent contractors. DIY installation may void the warranty.

Consolidated Sources

Company-Owned Sources

Independent Sources

Other Sources

Verify This Research

Review the study details behind this page or download the public machine-readable verification record.

Study date
September 27, 2026
Platforms analyzed
7
Source records
199
Candidates reviewed
20
Qualified finalists
6

Research trail and source mix

Configured platforms

openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google

Source mix

70 independent · 125 company-owned · 4 unclear

Evidence support

147 direct · 49 partial

Important limitation

Exactly 7 platforms were included in this run: openai, anthropic, deepseek, grok, perplexity, kimi, google. The configured source value 7 is provenance only and must never be described as the number of platforms studied.

Source snapshot SHA-256 73f8161f38a2e42158fbfdf832fb4cfe3a98ef147aba7863a3dd68f9bc821ce6

Archived editions

Browse earlier published research snapshots for this article. The latest edition remains at the current URL.